VoLTE with iPhone SE not working on Verizon

VoLTE with iPhone SE not working on Verizon

Postby RandySea » Wed Jan 08, 2020 7:52 pm

I have been using Tracfone over Verizon for nearly five years. My phone is an iPhone SE. The top line of my screen says I am connected to "TFW LTE".

Early last year, Verizon announced that it was switching technology from CDMA to VoLTE (Voice over LTE data). Compatible iPhones include SE, 6s, and later models.

On Dec. 27, 2019, I got a text message from TFW directing me to turn on VoLTE, with the simple directions for iPhones. Turn on "Voice & Data" the iPhone Cellular Data settings. In my case, all that happened for the first few days after I get the text message from TFW and tried to turn on VoLTE was that I got a message to contact TFW support. All they could tell me was that my phone was incompatible with VoLTE. That is obviously wrong. After that I stopped even getting the message. The cellular data setting just stays at Voice.

I know other people in my area who have iPhone SE that is working with "Voice & Data" over Verizon. They have Verizon plans. This tells me the problem is with Tracfone, either in their system connection to Verizon or in their APN profile. The customer service person insisted this could not be the case. It had to be my phone. Her supervisor said the same.

I tried two other iPhone SE with Tracfone over Verizon. Each had a "Voice & Data" option in settings. Each would not turn on.
RandySea

Re: VoLTE with iPhone SE not working on Verizon

Postby kg1414@outlook.com » Sun Jan 12, 2020 6:04 pm

I hate to tell you this, but the exact same thing happened to me. I had a iPhone SE. I KNOW that model is capable of LTE calls. But Tracfone said it is not. I chatted with them online 3 separate times and got the same answer.