ZTE353VL ("Cymbal T LTE") randomly opens apps when flip open

ZTE353VL ("Cymbal T LTE") randomly opens apps when flip open

Postby wb0gaz » Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:39 pm

I've been using a Tracfone ZTE Cymbal T LTE (Z353VL) for about 2 months. Fairly often (maybe 25% of the time), when I open (flip open) the phone, the phone starts some random app (the phone is a hybrid - a flip phone with Android 5.1 touch screen display).

Most frequently the app that is unexpectedly open is "Messages", but sometimes other app is unexpectedly open, and a couple of times it's seen fit to open the dialer app, and once it dialed a phone number with the dialer app, without any intent on my part.

I believe the phone normally should be on the home screen (round circle button selects) when I open (flip open) the phone.

What is happening, and can this behavior be avoided or fixed?

Thank you
wb0gaz

Re: ZTE353VL ("Cymbal T LTE") randomly opens apps when flip

Postby TracFone - Larry » Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:07 am

Hi wb0gaz. My name is TracFone Larry. I read your post and I am sorry you’re having some problems. For further assistance, please check your forum inbox for a message. Click on "New Messages" beside User Control Panel to view your forum inbox. Thank you.
TracFone - Larry

Postby wb0gaz » Sat Apr 21, 2018 8:42 am

Hello,

I believe I have isolated the cause of this problem - it appears to be based on a mechanical problem in the design of the phone itself, however, I am certain that it can be solved with a very simple software update.

I moved all app icons away from the middle home screen (so when I flip open the phone, I normally see only a blank screen with the small home button at the bottom.